One week with the Canon 60D Review


So after having the Canon 60D for one week now I can say this is another great VDSLR from Canon. Many people have asked me how is it? I would tell them that it’s like the Canon 40D and Canon 7D had a baby lol. I was skeptical when I first saw imagines of the Canon 60D. The flame wars were hot and heavy and I almost fell victim to it, like most people do when a new camera is introduced and NO ONE has touched it. The lesson here is, don’t judge a camera until you hold it in your hands.

When I first got the 60D in my hands I was amazed of how close it was to the 7D in comfort. I must say it was camera love at first sight… The body of the 60D is great better that then T2i but not as good as the 7D. I also like that it uses the same camera battery ( LP-E6 ) as the 5D Mark II and 7D. Some of the button placement is great like the ISO ,AF,DRIVE and Metering modes. The best feature of the 60D “to me” is the articulating LCD screen that works great. If your into video recording then this will work wonders.


The negatives of this camera is few. First I Hate! Hate!Hate! Where the trash button located. I’m so use to having to that button on the lower left now it’s on the upper left. I can understand why, because of the new
articulating LCD screen but the upper left! I HATE THAT! ….Ok breath……… another issue is the new locking system on the mode dials.


One word WHY? I know this isn’t a Pro Camera but why a have a locking button? REALLY ?? REALLY?? It’s just so weird for Canon to do this. With that being said it’s not bad at all for a $1,000 Camera ( body only) kit lens add $200-$300 more.I would say if your fan of the X0D line ,but not ready for the 7D then the Canon EOS 60D is for you. The Tech Specs of the 60D are below.

You can find me on Twitter @WrightWayPhoto

Tech Specs of the Canon EOS 60D straight from Canon

18MP APS-C CMOS sensor
ISO 100-3200 (expandable to 12,800)
5.3 fps continuous shooting
1080p HD video recording with manual controls
SD / SDHC / SDXC storage
In-camera raw development
Subject modes with ‘Ambience Selection’ (Standard, Vivid, Soft, Warm, Intense, Cool, Brighter, Darker and Monochrome)
In-camera Creative Filters (special effects)
Fully articulated 3.0″ screen (3:2)
Higher resolution sensor (17.9MP vs. 15.1MP)
Accepts SD, rather than CF memory cards
No flash sync socket
Wireless Speedlight control
Articulated 3:2 high resolution LCD screen
Plastic body shell (8% weight saving)
Standard ISO range extends to 6400, rather than 3200
User-definable Auto ISO upper limit
HD video recording 1080 p30/25/24 or 720p60/50 plus cropped 640 x 480 movie mode
New features: in-camera raw conversion, ambience settings, creative filters, more JPEG options
No joystick, no multi-flash support, simplified top plate & info panel, only one Custom mode, no AF micro-adjust
Slightly reduced customization options
Redesigned control layout with slightly fewer buttons
Lower burst rate

*note*
That’s one heck of a camera, I must say I used the Canon 7D only two times in the past week. This is a very big improvement from the 50D (that was a bomb in my opinion ) now This camera to me as great as it is will be used for a backup/second camera.

- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

This entry was published on October 9, 2010 at 1:02 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “One week with the Canon 60D Review

  1. I am trying to decide between the 60D and the T2i and when I tried them both out in store the T2i seems to focus in Live View quicker than the 60D. This seems strange to me given that they use the same sensor. Have you noticed any similar focus issues?

    • I didn’t notice any issues with my time with the t2i. I would say get the 60D because of the better options you get for $200 more. please check out my youtube channel at the top of the page. I put up a very good review that will help you out a lot.

      • I already saw your video review and thought it was well done. However, when I tried out both cameras the 60D seemed to take as much as four seconds to focus in Live View, while the T2i seemed to be a couple of seconds quicker. I know contrast based live mode is generally considered slow but I would have assumed the two cameras would focus essentially the same since they use the same sensor. Do you know of any reasons why this may not be the case?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

